2015 Report of the Election of Section Presidents

The section president election have ended to accept candidates.
(>> Announcement
All sections have one candidate each, therefore, besed on 2-4 in Detailed regulations of Section president Election (Japanese) , the election is not conducted, and the candidates become the section president automatically.

■Space and Planetary Sciences

TAKAHASHI Yukihiro (Hokkaido University)



Comments of recommendation:

Prof. Yukihiro Takahashi is expertees on the space scicnece, atmospheric science, and planetary science. And he is one of leaders for microSAT planetary sciences

■Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences

GAMO Toshitaka (Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo)


HIBIYA Toshiyuki, KANDA Jota

Comments of recommendation:

Prof. GAMO is an international expert of Chemical Oceanography and has been contributing to the internationalization of Geoscience in Japan as the Secretary of the National Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR). I would like to nominate him as the candidate for the AHS Section President.

■Human Geosciences

HARUYAMA Shigeko (Mie University)


As for section president, I will contribute to develop human geosciences section.

■Solid Earth Sciences

OHTANI Eiji (Graduate School of Science, Tohoku University)


I would like to take an initiative in Solid Earth section and JPGU for the success of forthcoming JPGU meeting with joint sessions with AGU in 2016 and the joint meeting with AGU in 2017. I also work for creation of new internal structures in this section for improving our activity.


ENDO Kazuyoshi (The University of Tokyo)


Biogeoscience has pivotal roles in integrating geo and life sciences, but the conditions surrounding it are far from satisfactory in terms of both research and education. I will try to circumvent this situation by promoting international collaborations to establish it as a mature field of science.

November 18, 2015
Board of Elections of Japan Geoscience Union
Chairman: HAMADA Morihisa
Members: HASEGAWA Takuya
IIZUKA Tsuyoshi
YOSHIDA Hidetsugu
YUKIMATU Akira Sessai

Other News
Feb 05, 2024 Dear Delegates-elected (How to Vote for the Election of Candidates of Directors)
Feb 02, 2024 Election of Candidates for the Directors: Notice Regarding the Withdrawal of One Candidate