Session outline
Solid Earth Sciences(S)
Session Sub Category Complex & General(CG)
Session ID S-CG07
Title Collision, Subduction, and Metamorphic processes
Short title Collision, Subduction, and Metamorphism
Convener Name Hafiz Ur Rehman
Affiliation Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Kagoshima University
Co-convener Name Tatsuki Tsujimori
Affiliation Institute for Study of the Earth's Interior, Okayama University
International Symposium 'International Symposium' in addition to Scientific session.
Language English
Scope This session is aimed at considering the processes involved with the continental collision, slabs subduction and related metamorphic processes. The multi-disciplinary approach will be applied to extract the information preserved in various rocks and minerals via structural, geophysical, petrologic, geochemical and experimental studies. These include formation processes of new minerals/textures, their growth history and recrystalization, inclusion morphology, and metamorphic reactions. Topics related to rocks and minerals formed in the processes of continental collisions, oceanic subductions, and regional metamorphisms are most welcome from the major orogenic belts worldwide. Topics in this session also include links between hydration and dehydration along the subduction channels, cycling of continental crust, deformation mechanisms in the subduction, collision regimes, formation and exhumation of various metamorphic rocks such as granulites, blueschist and HP/UHP eclogites and other metamorphic rock types.

The session also aims at exchanging ideas among geoscientists applying different approaches on problems related to the subducting slabs, collision boundaries and related metamorphic processes. New works with novel or interdisciplinary techniques to the related theme are especially welcomed.
Type of presentation Oral and Poster presentation
Invited papers Prof. Yukio Isozkai (The Uni. of Tokyo)
Prof. Shoji Arai (Kanazawa Uni.)
Dr. Kaushik Das (Hiroshima Uni.)
Dr. Mayuko Fukuyama (Akita Uni.)
Dr. Tomoyuki Kobayashi (Chiba Uni.)